Can I grow marijuana in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island has not legalized marijuana for recreational uses. However, you can possess or grow marijuana in Rhode Island for medical uses only until 6 cannabis plants at home. Apart from that, marijuana is still illegal in the state. For many years, lawmakers in Rhode Island have recommended legalizing the use of marijuana as in states like Massachusetts. But as of now, having small portions of marijuana is decriminalized for adults over the age of 21. It is treated like a civil violation, with no prison time.
Everything you need to know about growing marijuana in Rhode Island
Decriminalization of marijuana in Rhode Island
Growing and possessing marijuana is only legal for medical purposes with a proper license. There are five state-licensed medical dispensaries in the state. Moreover, Rhode Island has decriminalized possessing less than 1 ounce of marijuana for adults over 21 years.
Possession of marijuana in Rhode Island
Adults who possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana will be handled like a civil offence. They impose a fine of $150 with no imprisonment. It doesn’t appear on criminal records either. In the case of a qualifying patient, the maximum amount of marijuana you can possess is 2.5 ounces.
Felony charges for illegal possession of marijuana
Possession of recreational marijuana less than 1 ounce will only lead to a fine of $150 to a maximum of $600. But if you commit a third offence within 18 months possessing up to 1 ounce, it will be considered a criminal misdemeanour. It may lead to around a month in jail and fines up to $500.
Likewise, possession of 1 ounce up to 1 kg of marijuana is considered a criminal misdemeanour. It may lead to about a year in prison and a fine of around $500. Possessing more than 1 kg of marijuana is a felony. The charges may include up to 50 years in jail and a fine of up to $500,000.
Concerning the recreational weed in Rhode Island
Production and use of marijuana for recreational purposes are illegal in Rhode Island. Similarly, cultivating and distributing marijuana is also not allowed in the state. Carrying marijuana in the car may lead to the suspension of your driving license for 6 months. Possessing marijuana with the intent to distribute is also a felony. It calls for around 10 years of prison time and huge fines.
Concerning the medical marijuana in Rhode Island
Patients with certain medical conditions may require marijuana for their treatment. Only such qualifying patients will be given a medical license or card to use marijuana. They can either purchase the marijuana from licensed dispensaries or grow marijuana in Rhode Island.
What medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana?
Only the patients with the following medical conditions can qualify for marijuana use:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Chronic pain
- Hepatitis C
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
Qualifying patients can carry only 2.5 ounces of marijuana for medical purposes. They can also grow marijuana in Rhode Island, at home or in a secluded area, but only up to limited plants. Caregivers can grow the plants for the patients.
How many plants can I grow in Rhode Island ?
You cannot grow marijuana in Rhode Island unless you are a qualifying patient for the same. Only patients or their caregivers with proper medical licenses can grow cannabis plants. Patients can grow up to 12 mature plants and 12 seedlings of cannabis. However, all of them must be cultivated in the same location.
The marijuana should be stored indoors only. A caregiver can grow marijuana plants for up to 5 patients at a time. But all the patients must be qualifying with a medical license. The caregiver must be above 21 years of age.
Home cultivation of medical marijuana at home in in Rhode Island
Multiple medical license holders can pool their marijuana cultivation in one location. If the location is a non-residential area, you can have no more than 10 ounces of marijuana. You can collectively have a maximum of 48 mature plants and 48 seedlings of cannabis. In the case of a residential area, you can grow up to 24 mature plants and 24 seedlings collectively.
Where can you grow marijuana in Rhode Island?
Qualifying medical patients can grow marijuana at home. However, they need to register the location of the cannabis cultivation in the DOH (Department of Health). Patients also need to purchase medical marijuana plant tags for every cannabis plant they grow. Moreover, patients can cooperatively grow cannabis plants in residential or non-residential locations.
What are the penalties for the illegal cultivation of marijuana?
Adults are not allowed to grow marijuana in Rhode Island for recreational purposes. Growing marijuana up to 1 kg may lead to around 30 years in jail and a fine of up to $100,000. Cultivation of marijuana between 1 kg and 5 kg calls for compulsory imprisonment of 10 years up to 50 years and a fine of up to $500,000.
Cultivation of more than 5 kg of marijuana calls for at least 25 years in jail and a fine of $500,000. Moreover, the growth of marijuana within 300 yards of drug-free areas like schools calls for double penalties.
Can I sell my own marijuana in Rhode Island?
The sale of marijuana is illegal in Rhode Island. Only state-licensed medical dispensaries can sell marijuana for medical patients. Private sale or distribution of marijuana by individuals calls for harsh penalties.
What are the penalties for the illegal sale of marijuana?
Sale of up to 1 kg of marijuana calls for a maximum of 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. Likewise, the sale of 1 kg to 5 kg of marijuana leads to a mandatory 10 years in jail and a fine of up to $500,000. The sale of more than 5 kg of marijuana is a felony call for a minimum of 20 years in prison and a fine of $500,000.
The sale of marijuana to minors calls for around 2 to 5 years of imprisonment and a fine of about $100,000. Moreover, the sale of marijuana within 300 yards of drug-free areas also leads to double penalties.
Do you need a marijuana card in Rhode Island ?
Yes, you need a medical marijuana card to purchase marijuana for medical patients. Using this license, you can purchase prescribed marijuana in state-registered medical dispensaries around the state.
Want to know where you can grow marijuana in US ?Discover now your rights
Yes, you can grow marijuana only for medical uses 🌿, be careful about the specific conditions
last update : August 1, 2021