Can I grow marijuana in Utah?
Utah is one of the few states which have legalized marijuana only for medical purposes. One cannot possess, use or grow marijuana in Utah for recreational uses. Possession of even very little amounts of marijuana may result in penalties. Similarly, the cultivation and distribution of marijuana are also illegal in Utah. Patients are only entitled to purchase marijuana from licensed dispensaries.
Everything you need to know about growing marijuana in Utah
How much weed can you possess in Utah?
The adult use, possession and cultivation of marijuana are completely illegal in Utah. The state does not decriminalize the use of marijuana at any level. Possessing even very little amounts of marijuana can get you in trouble such as imprisonment or fines. However, qualifying patients with a proper medical marijuana license can possess up to 4 ounces of marijuana every 30 days. You must not exceed the amount during this period.
What are the felony charges for possessing illegal marijuana?
Possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a Class B criminal misdemeanour in Utah. This calls for up to 6 months in prison and a fine of up to $1,000. If you get caught for the same possession a second time, it is considered a Class A criminal misdemeanour. And a third time will be considered as a third-degree felony.
If you possess 1 ounce to 1 pound of marijuana, it is a Class A misdemeanour. It calls for up to 1 year of imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,500. If you are caught possessing between 1 to 100 pounds of marijuana, it is considered a third-degree felony. It calls for up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $5,000. Possession of more than 100 pounds of marijuana is a second-degree felony. This calls for up to 15 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.
Concerning the recreational weed in Utah
Residents are not allowed to possess, consume, or grow marijuana in Utah for recreational purposes. Any violation or illegal possession of marijuana is considered a misdemeanour or a felony based on its intensity. It is dealt with by imprisonment and whopping high fines.
Medical marijuana in Utah
Qualifying patients must hold a medical marijuana card to avail of marijuana from dispensaries. You can purchase medical marijuana only using a prescription from your doctor. Patients can only possess maximum marijuana of up to 4 ounces (or a month’s dosage). Marijuana can be purchased from state-licensed medical dispensaries. Patients can have up to two caregivers at a time to obtain the marijuana for them.
Medical conditions that qualify for marijuana use
Following are some of the medical conditions that let patients avail of medical marijuana:
- HIV or AIDs
- Debilitating seizures
- Persistent nausea
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Debilitating muscle spasms
- Ulcerative colitis
- Multiple sclerosis
- Other medical conditions that cause debilitating effects on patients
How many weed plants can I grow in Utah?
The state of Utah does not permit medical patients to grow their marijuana. They are only allowed to purchase the medical marijuana dosage from licensed dispensaries. Home cultivation of medical marijuana is also illegal in Utah. However, marijuana can be consumed in any form, such as tablets, lozenges, oils, capsules or liquid suspension. Marijuana-infused products can be purchased from state-approved pharmacies in the state.
Where you can grow marijuana in Utah?
Medical patients are not allowed to grow marijuana in Utah. They can only purchase a month’s marijuana dosage from licensed dispensaries. There are around 14 state-licensed medical dispensaries in the state. Home cultivation of marijuana is illegal in Utah. The Utah Medical Cannabis Act of 2018 abolished the home cultivation of marijuana.
Penalty for growing marijuana in Utah
If you grow marijuana in Utah, the penalty will be applied based on the weight of the cannabis plants. Cultivation of 1 ounce of cannabis plants is a criminal misdemeanour. The charges may be up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Similarly, 1 ounce to a pound of cannabis calls for up to 1 year in jail and a fine of $2,500.
If the weight of the cannabis plants is between 1 to 100 pounds, it is considered a third-degree felony. It may lead to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $5,000. Likewise, more than 100 pounds of cannabis cultivation is a second-degree felony. This may lead to a maximum f 15 years’ imprisonment and fines of up to $10,000.
Can I sell marijuana in Utah?
The sale or distribution of marijuana for any purpose is illegal. Only state-licensed dispensaries can give out medical marijuana to card-holding patients. Any violation of the same leads to harsh felony charges.
What are the penalties for the illegal sale of marijuana?
Any sale of marijuana illegally is considered a second-degree felony in Utah. It calls for up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Moreover, the sale of marijuana to minors or sale within 1000 feet of drug-free areas such as schools, may invite increased penalties.
Do you need a marijuana card in Utah ?
Yes, you need a medical cannabis card to avail of medical marijuana from dispensaries. For obtaining a card, you need to be a qualifying patient of 18 years or above or have a guardian above the age of 18. A patient can have up to two caregivers to help them obtain their medical marijuana.
What is the procedure to obtain a medical marijuana card?
Qualifying patients should follow the below-mentioned steps to get a medical cannabis card:
- Must be a resident of Utah with any above-mentioned qualifying medical condition.
- Meet your medical professional directly.
- The doctor verifies your eligibility for a medical cannabis card.
- Pay the application fee of $15.
- Your application will be approved or rejected by the Utah Department of Health (UDOH) within 15 days.
- After approval, you will receive your medical cannabis card.
- You may use the card to purchase medical marijuana from any state-licensed dispensary.
A medical marijuana card will be valid for 90 days. However, the following renewals will be valid for 6 months or 1 year.
Want to know where you can grow marijuana in US ?Discover now your rights
Yes, you can grow marijuana only for medical uses 🌿, be careful about the specific conditions
last update : August 1, 2021