Can I grow marijuana in Minnesota?
Yes, but only for medicinal purpose. Minnesota is another state that allows growing and consumption of Marijuana for medicinal purpose. Similarly like other states, you have to be at least 21 years of age. Also, if you want to consume marijuana, you need to obtain a doctor's certificate. But in the upcoming month of August 2021, Minnesota is expected to come up with specific laws for consumption and growth, grow until 8 marijuana plants. In addition, the laws regarding smoking are still to be made by the federal government.
Everything you need to know about growing marijuana in Minnesota
Cities like Minneapolis, Minnesota City, Saint Paul, and others are coming forward to grow marijuana in Minnesota. As of now, there is no specific law regarding the growing of marijuana in Minnesota. But, if you get caught, then you will have to pay felony charges depending on the weight of the marijuana.
Know about the Weed Tax in Minnesota
Minnesota has a separate weed tax program. So, if you are purchasing marijuana, you will need to purchase the stamps that cover the tax. According to the current laws of Minnesota, the weed tax rate is $3.50 per gram.
Legalization to use and grow Marijuana in Minnesota for personal use
No, it is not legal to use and grow marijuana for personal use. Specific laws are expected to be enacted by August 2021 to cover all the aspects of consumption and selling.
Legal age to consume marijuana in Minnesota
All states in the US including Minnesota have allowed an individual with 21 years or above to consume marijuana. According to the new bill drafted by lawmakers in Minnesota, the state will allow individuals to possess 1.5 ounces for adults. Also, they will give the right to grow around 8 marijuana plants at their home.
Concerning the recreational
The state of Minnesota has currently allowed growing marijuana only for medicinal and recreational purposes. It doesn’t even allow the patients to grow marijuana for personal use. As of now, the state has no specific laws for the growing and consumption of weed. That is why it is considered to have restrictive programs for cannabis. Overall, home cultivation is still illegal in Minnesota.
Concerning the medical
There are certain medical conditions to allow people to consume and grow marijuana in Minnesota. The medical program for marijuana in Minnesota was enacted in the year 2015. The law also doesn’t allow Minnesota residents to grow weed at their homes even for medical purposes. These are the following medical conditions which you can use marijuana:
- Cancer or Cachexia
- Sleep Apnea
- Terminal Illness
- Severe Muscle Spasms
Is growing or consuming marijuana legal in Minnesota?
Growing or consuming marijuana is not legal in Minnesota without recreational and medical purposes. If you get caught, you have to pay a fine that will depend upon the size of marijuana you procure.
How many plants I can grow in Minnesota
It is estimated that the new law will allow people to grow 8 marijuana plants. But at present, it is not allowed to grow marijuana for personal or recreational uses. If you are a grower and hold certain certificates and licenses, you can grow marijuana.
Charges for illegal possession or growing marijuana in Minnesota
If you get caught with more than 42 grams of weed, then you will have to pay a fine of $200 for the first time. Also, you are caught with more than 1.4 grams of weed in a vehicle then, you will be put behind bars for 90 days.
What are the felony charges for selling marijuana illegally in Minnesota?
If you get caught selling marijuana illegally, to a minor or someone else, you have to pay $1,000,000 as a fine. Along with that, you will be put into imprisonment for about 30 years. Also, if you distribute marijuana near school areas or other public places, you will have to spend 15 years in imprisonment with a $100,000 fine.
Where you can grow marijuana
It is not allowed to grow marijuana indoors or outdoors in Minnesota. Currently, there are eight dispensaries in Minnesota that are owned by two companies called Minnesota Medical Solutions and Leafline Labs. To obtain marijuana, you need to show a doctor's license to prove your medical condition.
Fees for grower license in Minnesota
To obtain a grower license for marijuana in Minnesota is $150. Also, you have to pay $250 to obtain a professor license.
Number of plants allowed for growing
As of now, there is still no law about the number of plants that you are allowed to grow in Minnesota. Even if they want to grow marijuana for medical or recreational purposes, they are still not allowed to grow.
Can I sell marijuana in Minnesota?
For the time being, the law is not yet clear regarding the sale of cannabis due to the undefined status of the law. We should have more news in the next few months when the cannabis shoot will be officially launched. Right now, present dispensaries are limited to sell cannabis pills and tinctures to the patients. It is also very important for the patients purchasing marijuana to have proof and certificates.
Do You Need a Marijuana Card?
If you want to do marijuana business in Minnesota, obtain a medical marijuana card is needed. To get a medical marijuana card for selling purposes, you need to follow the below steps.
- You need to contact a certified physician or doctor. For that, you can meet them or send an email.
- After you get a response from them, you have to do online registration for a ”Medical Marijuana Card.”
- Then you have to visit a center for cannabis patients.
- Fill in the form of patient self-evaluation.
- After that, you will be guided on how to get a marijuana card by the executives.
Want to know where you can grow marijuana in US ?Discover now your rights
Yes, you can grow marijuana only for medical uses 🌿, be careful about the specific conditions
last update : August 1, 2021