Can I grow marijuana in Nevada?
Yes, people are now allowed to grow marijuana in Nevada for recreational or medical use. With the new rules and regulations, you are now allowed to grow up to 6 marijuana plants in a single household. The minimum age to grow marijuana is 21 years of age and older and they can carry up to one ounce of marijuana. Moreover, buying and selling of marijuana seeds are also legal in Nevada.
Everything you need to know about growing marijuana in Nevada!
Due to its benefits, marijuana has been used for medical purpose for a long time. Many states in the United States of America have made the consumption and growth of marijuana legal, such as Michigan, California, Maine, Colorado, Alaska, etc.
However, even though possession, use, and cultivation are legal in these states, marijuana is still considered illegal under federal law.
What are the rules and regulations for growing marijuana in Nevada?
Growing marijuana in Nevada for recreational use is permitted under restricted conditions. Consumption of marijuana in public places is prohibited. You may carry up to 1 ounce of marijuana and 1/8 of an ounce of marijuana concentrate.
It is not legal to consume marijuana outside a private residence. In addition, landlords and resident owners can also prohibit the use of marijuana in their properties. Smoking marijuana at a public place in Nevada is an act of felony which can cost a fine of $600. Possessing an amount greater than 1 ounce in public is also illegal.
Cultivation of recreational marijuana is considered legal only if the grower lives 25 miles away from a dispensary. Individuals who live farther than 25 miles away may grow up to 6 plants per person and no more than 12 plants per household. This is irrespective of the number of adults in the household.
It is illegal for people below 18 years of age to possess and grow marijuana in Nevada. The only exception is if the individual has a medical marijuana card.
Concerning the recreational
The use of recreational marijuana came into action in January 2017. This Nevada Marijuana Legislation Initiative was put forward by voters in November 2016 and was approved by 8 percentage points. The sales of legal recreational marijuana began on July 1, 2017.
Even though recreational marijuana is legal in Nevada. Transferring marijuana from one state to another is considered illegal. This is even if marijuana is legal in both states. When purchased from a store, it should be kept in a sealed container and both drivers and passengers cannot consume it. Driving under the influence of cannabis is also considered illegal.
Adults who are of 21 years of age and older can grow marijuana for personal use. However, you are not allowed to grow if you live twenty-five miles away from a marijuana retailer.
Concerning the medical
Growing marijuana in Nevada has been legal for a long time. It was passed under the Nevada Medical Marijuana Act with 59% of the vote in 1998 and for the second time in 2000, it passed with 65% votes. Medical marijuana is used for reducing:
- muscle spasms
- post-traumatic stress disorder
Medical marijuana is legal for adults of 21 years and older with these qualifying conditions and others. You must furnish a medical certificate that says you are eligible for the usage of medical marijuana. Patients can consume up to two and a half ounces of edible cannabis products or marijuana-infused products. They can grow up to 12 plants for medical use under Nevada medical marijuana law.
This is as long as the patient cannot get cannabis from a dispensary and possesses a valid medical marijuana card of Nevada.
How many plants can I grow in Nevada?
Growing marijuana in Nevada is legal and individuals of 21 years old and older can grow up to 6 plants individually and no more than 12 plants in a household. This is for recreational use. For medical purposes, you can grow up to 12 plants in a household.
Where can I grow marijuana in Nevada?
To grow your marijuana, you need to live more than twenty-five miles away from a local dispensary. The plants must be grown away from the public eye and should not be visible to people. Marijuana plants should be grown in an enclosed area such as a closet, greenhouse, or room.
The grower must get the property owner’s permission if he or she is not the owner of the residence. In addition, those who are 21 can grow marijuana for others as well.
Can I sell cannabis in Nevada?
No, selling homegrown marijuana is an offense in Nevada. Only licensed dispensaries can sell them and unlicensed sale of marijuana is illegal. However, you can give up to an ounce of marijuana to someone as a gift who is above 21 years of age.
Selling and growing marijuana in Nevada for recreational use became legal in July 2017 and medical marijuana became legal in 1998 and 2000.
Customers can purchase up to one ounce of marijuana flower or 1/8 ounce of concentrate at a recreational dispensary. 15% excise tax is applied to every purchase. Customers purchasing marijuana for medical use should be medical marijuana cardholders and over the age of 18. They can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana every two weeks.
Do you need a Marijuana Card in Nevada?
There are some benefits of owning a marijuana card for recreational users such as cheap taxes. However, as long as you are 21 years old and above and have a valid ID, you do not need a marijuana card to purchase for recreational use.
For individuals who are 18 years old and below 21 need a medical marijuana card to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a dispensary. Therefore, for the purchase of medical marijuana products a marijuana card is mandatory. As marijuana is still illegal under federal law, it is important to check all the rules before growing marijuana in Nevada.
Want to know where you can grow marijuana in US ?Discover now your rights
Can I grow marijuana in Nevada?
YES, you can grow marijuana for medical and recreational purposes 🌿
last update : August 1, 2021